Tate Gallery


The Tate Gallery - now Tate Britain - was named in honour of Sir Henry Tate, the sugar merchant, who donated the original collection. It houses the national collection of British paintings from the 16th-20th centuries. Other collections housed at the Tate include the Turner Bequest and modern prints created after 1945.